How a photography project can help you fall back in love with photography.

It’s no secret that I love photography but since finishing uni I have fallen out of my passion and that’s a shame. A few years ago I used to do the Project 365 which is a year-long photography project where you take a photo a day.

I loved doing this and always got mad at myself for forgetting a day. (This happened a few times). I loved it so much that I did it for two years straight. I would have done it for a third year but felt with the final year of university I wouldn’t have been able to keep up with my work and the project so I decided against it.

Well, we also did photography during my final year and I fell deeper in love with the hobby but fell out of it after uni finished as I just had no urge to do it. So I decided two weeks ago to try a new photography project. The date also had to coincide with 100 days till Christmas so I started a photography project called 100 Days of Photos. 

It’s the same concept of the 365 but a bit shorter. Since I started it, I have fallen back in love with photography and now take my time in choosing shots and have gotten out a lot more to get that good shot for the day. So I’m passing on some advice.

1. Start Small.

Don’t just jump into a 365 project because you are more likely going to fail because you were unprepared and it’s easy to lose count. These projects are best started on January 1st. That way all you have to do is take a photo everyday.

I have had previous projects which have run for a month. These are good projects to do. Maybe start a project called October Bloom or something like that. Or even a week of photos called A week in my life. I don’t know but sometimes smaller is easier as it gets you into the habit.

2. You can pick a specific subject

Sometimes people take photos of themselves for a month. Sometimes they take photos of the sky or the leaves. These are all good places to start. I tend to take a photo of whatever has caught my eye that day. These range from flowers, rivers, walls or even amusing cups.

I’m not saying you need a subject but sometimes for guidance it does help.

3. Don’t worry about it

I used to get so annoyed at myself because I missed a day or got the numbers marked wrong. Don’t! It’s meant to be fun so enjoy it. If you miss a day or get muddled it’s fine. It’s all part of the process.

4. Equipment

Now you don’t need some fancy camera to do this project but it can help in capturing certain subject. Don’t worry too much because my past 16 photos have been captured using my phone.

I do recommend using Instagram if you’re using your phone to do these projects because it’s a great way to share you talent. I’ve had loads more views and likes since I started 15 days ago so it’s given me such a boost. Sometimes it’s nice to have that little bit of reassurance from strangers and it does keep you on track.

The main thing about the project is just to enjoy it. If you do start one I would love to see your photos. You can view my past 16 days below.

Leave a Reply

