Why the selfie gives self confidence

A selfie. Yes it’s a millennial thing which can be annoying but actually it does help people in every day life. Take me for example. I hated having my photograph taken. I was always behind the camera rather then in front of it.

Then the idea of selfies came around. I was reluctant at first but changed my mind once I saw how socially acceptable it became. My first selfie is really embarrassing. See for yourselves.

222316_6415904051_4897_n

This was before the world of Snapchat. Now my selfies are much better.

13924822_10154466007939052_3762943218718824677_n

But all this taking photos of myself or with a group of friends has really boosted my confidence. I am now happy to pose for photos and especially selfies. If I think I look good then I take a selfie. I might not share them but their there to remind me that I can look good and feel great.

A lot of the older generation seem to think that Selfies are a bad thing but I think they are a good way of getting a younger generation to love themselves. My nephew loves Snapchat (I know he’s only two) but everytime he uses it he smiles and giggles. It makes him feel happy so I don’t understand why thats such a bad thing.

I think that Selfies should become a new form of portraiture as some selfies are better then the standard portrait photograph. A real personality can shine through instead of being forced to do it and look awful.

They are also a good way to take a group photo with your friends to become memorable from a special occasion.

Selfies will be around for a few more years if not forever so I’ll enjoy the confidence burst while I can.

Leave a Reply

