Zumba – why the millenials are missing out

Now okay, I don’t classify as a Millennial becuase i’m a 90’s kid at heart but millianials are nearly getting to my age (I refuse to age) and they are missing a great, fun, calorie burning exercise called Zumba.

If you haven’t heard of Zumba then it’s a exercise routine/class where you are basically trying to dance following an instructor. Which in other words means you are trying your hardest not to fall over your own feet.

201506_0548_daiae_sm

I first joined a Zumba class with my Sister-in-law last year while my nephew was younger and it was easier to sneak out of the house. (it’s really not easy now). She went to a evening class near her house and one day I stayed over and we tried it. Thats when I feel in love with the exercise.

Everyone there were different sizes and ages but they were all trying to have fun while getting in some exercise. It was brilliant and I really enjoyed it. So we continued going for a few weeks untilĀ the class stopped for Summer Holidays.

So I stopped Zumba for a little while until we went to a Women’s only morning at My sister in Laws gym. We saw that Zumba was on the list so we agreed to go to the class.

201506_0539_idbgb_sm

NEVER AGAIN. This class was awful. There wasno personal feeling towards the group ad it felt like we were taking part in a army training session rather then having fun.

So we stopped again.

So a few months ago I joined a new gym because I moved back from Uni and needed to keep up with my routine. Well a friend of mine suggested joining the Monday morning Zumba class with her. Because of the awful experience from my last session I was a little bit anxious. I was wrong to be.

The instructor there called Karen HIx is lovely and I love my mondays because I know I get to go to Zumba and have a great time while doing so. She is personal and you laugh through the whole class. Makes Mondays doable.

58691500

But this is the thing. I think a lot of younger people think that Zumba is for the older generation which I think is a load of rubbish. A lot of younger people love to dance so why not try to dance and do a routine? I love it and rave about Zumba which is why I will be sad when I get a full time job which might not be local. Not because I’ll miss my parents, Dog and rest of my family. Because I’ll miss zumba.

Go on give it a go. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

