Becoming a graduate….then what?

You’re about to become a graduate. Well Done. I understand the stress and tears (literal) that went into the three years of studying so give yourself a metaphorical pat on the back (unless you can actually do it then feel free)

But now that uni is over, whats next?

It’s time to start looking for a job. This might be a job within the field (unless your like me and they wont give you a job unless you have experience) or a basic job until you actually decide what you want to do with your life.

(the second option is me currently)

ThatdBeGreatMemeOnEntryLevelPositionJobsRecruiting Blogs

But how do you start?

Here are a few tips which I have picked up while job hunting.

1. Make an awesome Cv

A CV is everything when looking for a job. So why not make yours a little different and make it stand out. Just so I’m clear don’t make it colourful or childish but make it interesting. Make sure you have the information which really makes you stand out from the crowd and make sure your hobbies and interests are better then ‘keeping fit’ explain what this is.

2. Find the right website

I’ve been using Indeed.co.uk while looking for a job. This is so I can specifically look for jobs within my area. I have also been checking my uni website as they sometimes post jobs and Unitemps as these offer jobs specifically aimed at university students/graudates. They aren’t permeenat but they are enough to get some experience to get that dream job.

3. Persistence, persistence, persistence!!!

Be persistent. Even if you start getting rejections don’t give up. I have applied for 60+ jobs and have only heard from 10% of them but thats not stopping me from looking because I know that there is a job out there for me and I won’t find it if I give up.

persistence

Ice Burner

4. Dress smart

Dress smartly for interviews. Even if it says its a informal interview, still dress smartly as first impressions do count. I always try to wear a nice dress or a smart blouse and a nice skirt as I believe that if I look smart then it can give off a good impression of me.

5. Be Yourself

Make sure you be yourself in the interview. Never be a fake person (this is a generally rule for life). If you appear to be fake you are less likely to get the job or you will get the job but then not survive long as the first impression is not you and the employer will see that.

the-most-important-thing-in-life-is-to-be-yourself_c_2059853.jpg

Meme Centre

Good Luck out there, you’ll do great 🙂

One thought on “Becoming a graduate….then what?

Leave a Reply

