A 24 year olds guide to Paris: Champs Elysee only for the rich?

When I had arrived at my hotel. I didn’t spend to long in my room. Literally I dumps my bags on the bed emptied the items I didn’t need from my bag for the evening and I was off.

I decided to use google maps and workout how far away the Champs-Élysées was from my hotel. 25 minutes walk was nothing so I decided to follow the map to get to where I wanted to go. (After my disastrous start on the metro walking was the best option) so I followed my map and it lead me to up to a walkway which would cut out half of my journey.

Wrong.

I walked up the walkway without realising that were doing maintenance on the road so it was closed to the public. Great. Out comes google maps again and I found an alternative route to get to the Champs-Élysées. I walked route. Still no sign of the road. I was lost AGAIN. I figured out that it was north to where I was standing so I headed north. I saw the Eiffel Tower while walking this route. That’s when I got really confused. Basically I was heading back to my hotel without even meaning to. Damn. Google Maps again. This time I put in Arc de Triomphe because I knew that was connected to the road from my extensive research. Took me to a completely different way to the way I was going. It took me down the river. So I followed it down the river. Very pretty at sunset. I walked for miles and miles (or at least it felt like it) until I came to a roundabout which my google maps told me if I turned up the road I would come across the Champs-Élysées so I believed it and walked up to the road. It didn’t lead directly onto the road but did lead me on to the Champs-Élysées eventually.

I got lost in Paris a lot which if you continue to read my blog you will learn quickly.

Anyways when I found my way I started to walk up the avenue looking into the different windows. I could only afford to window shop. The further up I got the closer I could see the Arc de Triomphe which made me want to continue the avenue.

The Arc de Triomphe can be seen in a distance.

The Arc de Triomphe can be seen in a distance.

I decided to pop into the H&M on the avenue and noticed that the items that I could buy were no different to the items which I could purchase over in the UK. Still it was nice to look.  

Afterwards I started to get more hungry as I went on so I decided to start looking at restaurants on the avenue which I was totally naive that I could possibly afford the food on the avenue. The prices were not liable on my poor student wage so I decided to keep walking up the avenue and see whether there was a take-away or something like that near where I was heading so I could walk and eat. With no such luck. Note to any travellers: If you are on a limited budget be prepared before hitting the Avenue because it is ridiculously expensive.

I continued my walk up the avenue passing shops such as the Peugeot shop, Zara and the Disney store. I started to get tired on my walk but I was so determined to get to the Arc de Triomphe. I managed to make it about 30 mins after hitting the avenue and I’ll tell you this. It was stunning. It was all lit up and it is a lot bigger than I have ever anticipated. I didn’t cross to get a closer look but i managed to get to the top of the road and get a pretty good photographs. (See Below)

DSCF0975 DSCF0969

I had been advised to go into the Arc but at this point in the evening it was 10pm and I was starving because I hadn’t eaten since 12:30. I decided to walk down the other side of the avenue and head back to my hotel. This took me another good 30 minutes. I got lost on my way again but however I managed to find the Eiffel Tower in time to see it sparkly. It was stunning from a distance and I hoped to see it a little closer later on in the trip. When I saw the whole Eiffel Tower I knew I was closer to my hotel so I walked towards it.

Travellers Note: Always pick a hotel near a main attraction. Easier to find the hotel when you will enviable get lost in Paris

I walked towards my hotel and managed to find a small cafe near and stopped to get something to eat. The cafe which I stopped at was on the corner near the Eiffel Tower. (Should have wrote down the name, Not on trip advisor). I stopped there and was seated on a table seat for myself. The waiter offered me a menu and then pointed out that he thought I had something in my teeth but instead he was pointing at a chip in my front tooth which I have had since I was 13. I thought this to be a little rude but went about and ignored it.

Another waiter came over to me and asked me what I would like to order and drink. I ordered a Ham and Cheese Crepe with a Chocolat au Chaud. I had to wait less than 15 minutes for my order and when it arrived I was shocked by the size of the crepe.

Look at the size of it

Look at the size of it

I only managed to eat about 1/4 of the crepe because contrary to popular belief not all crepes in Paris are nice. I left the rest and drank my Chocolat au Chaud and again it was not as nice as I imagined because I could taste the chocolate powder so not what I wanted at all. I paid my bill not long after and returned to my hotel.

I rested up for my busiest day of the trip. More of that to come at a later date.

 

 

Leave a Reply

